American Election Discussion

Comments

• I'm also not impressed by the phrase 'dissipated over the horizon'.

If he's the leader of the free world, can he not attract better A-listers speech writers?
  • I know I know, I'm a speech writer by profession but I turned him down ;cool
  • Thought it was a good speech and am looking forward to his presidency - Sad that people are hoping it will finish short due to unforeseen circumstances.
    Different people have different opinions, it appears that mine as well as the majority of Americans outside of California doesn't count.
  • The problem as I see it Simonc is that if he does not make good on a lot of his promises in the first few years (or good progress on them), then a lot of those who voted for him might not vote, or vote the other way at the mid-terms so he suddenly finds he has one house against him, making him a bit of a lame duck for the remainder of his term.
  • edited January 2017
    simonc said:

Different people have different opinions, it appears that mine as well as the majority of Americans outside of California doesn't count.

That statement seems rather at odds with reality. He's the flippin' President. And it was your opinions that got him there.

In what universe don't your opinions count?

Also, last time I looked, California was part of the USA.

So, ironically, the reality is that while your opinions did count, it was in fact the majority of Americans (as a whole) whose opinions didn't count.

So I think you have less cause for complaint than some others. Frankly.

Finally, your post suggests you think Californians opinions should be disregarded.

So, that's a bit contradictory, isn't it.
  • California is on another planet not the USA but point taken ;biggrin the campaign didn't campaign for votes there so he didn't get them - (Intelligent Move)