World Cup KO: En-ger-land, En-ger-land, En-ger-land (was 'Group G')

Comments

• BBB, it's funny you should say that about Maguire, I thought the same thing when I saw him playing for Hull.
    I was surprised to see him go to Leicester and even more surprised to see him in an England shirt, but I thought it was just me not seeing something that others saw.

Also Steptoe for Sterling ;ok
  • I personally really like Maguire. I think he's strong, quick, and surprisingly good on the ball for a big guy
  • Cahill, Maguire's likely replacement, is even slower and uses the ball a lot less intelligently. Delph is there as a 'close the game down' midfielder. We have no alternative (that I can think of) The answer is to keep scoring in the first 10 minutes! ;wink
  • edited June 2018
    Personally I would put Dier in the back three. CB by trade, although converted to DM, & comfortable passing as he plays midfield regularly.

Pickford
    Walker - Stones - Dier
    Trippier - Alli - Henderson - Lingard - Rose
    Rashford - Kane
  • Dier never impresses me at CB, and he didnt at Spurs this season

Think Maguire is just about doing enough, but i agree that I think belgium will think they can get at us, particularly down our left
  • Reports over here that Belgium will play their B team on Thursday.

I'm not sure where I stand on that for England, I think maintaining momentum is important but also trying to keep them fresh at the same time.
  • I think it's important to get a bit of rotation but not too much.

Pickford; Walker Stones Maguire; Trent Alli Dier Loftus-Cheek Rose; Rashford Kane
  • edited June 2018
    I'm already booking a flight out to Moscow for the final. Its coming home.

Any case,

Rashford for Sterling (deserves his chance)
    Rose for Young (needs game time)
    Alexander-Arnold for Trippier (would like to see what he can offer)
    Loftus Cheek for Ali (is there a point risking Dele Ali ? let Loftus Cheek get more experience)