Carabao Cup Thread - H draw v Spurs in next round Weds 31 Oct

Comments

• Time to give big Sam a call then pronto
  • Got a feeling our mentality is changing, I’m liking this.....
  • It's just occurred to me that Conor Coventry was the first player born this century to play for West Ham. 25th March 2000.
  • To be honest, Pellegrini had me when he said "I've been doing this job for 35 years, I know what I am doing." It seems he does.
  • The 21st Century didn't start until 1st January 2001.
  • alderz said:

It's just occurred to me that Conor Coventry was the first player born this century in the year 2000 to play for West Ham. 25th March 2000.

• edited September 2018
    ASLEF

That's a fairly niche viewpoint.

Most accept the millennium, and hence beginning of the century, happened at the start of 2000.

Stephen Jay Gould had an interesting look at this in his book Questioning the Millennium.
  • Yeah it’s a weird one. I like to think of the 20th century as being the same as the 1900’s. So, 01/01/1900 is part of the 1900’s, and so part of the 20th century.

But googling it, it does seem that isn’t necessarily the case.

The logic I use is a minute (a way of measuring how long something lasts) starts at 0 seconds. So, why wouldn’t this century start at 01/01/2000?
  • edited September 2018
    In the book I mentioned, Gould references his autistic son, who can instantly calculate the day of the week for any given date.

When asked about the millennium starting in 2000 or 2001, he opted for 2000 and explained it by saying the first century only had 99 years.

(The subtitle of the book is 'A Rationalist's Guide to a Precisely Arbitrary Countdown')
  • Home to Spurs in Round 4.

Another 8-0 on the horizon.
  • Glad we are home but could have done without spurs.play like we did today no problem
  • edited September 2018
    Would rather have beaten them in the final but I'll take it!
  • 'Big 4' avoid each other yet again. A complete fix.