Likely team set up/formation/starting XI for 2017-18

2»

Comments

• If we go 3 at the back, I'd like to see zaba Reid ogbonna as the 3 rather than fonte..
  • I too prefer Zab to Fonte.
  • edited July 2017
    I'm not sure Zaba's tall enough to play as a CB even in a 3. Would need to be Fonte, Kouyate or Burke for me. However, I appreciate Zaba's a little taller than Mascherano, who played CB quite a bit for Barca. But I think for us in the EPL, we'd need someone stronger in the air there.
  • I look at Zabaleta in the same way as Azpilicueta.

Both RB's by trade, both under 6ft, both quite slow, but both can do a job at RCB in a back three.
  • I'm not sure Zaba's tall enough to play as a CB even in a 3. However, I appreciate Zaba's a little taller than Mascherano, who played CB quite a bit for Barca. But I think for us in the EPL, we'd need someone stronger in the air there.

He's a little taller than Stevie Potts as well ;biggrin

Personally I think we should play Reid, Kouyate and Ogbonna if we play 3 at the back.
  • Why play what would be a disillusioned Kouyate out of position when we have Fonte? He'd certainly leave then and we can't afford that to happen.
  • 4-2-3-1. It will be that
  • edited July 2017
    The way it's shaping up, we are probably looking at starting the season with this XI (due to Kouyate and Antonio's injury issues which could see them miss the first few games):

Hart
    Zabaleta - Reid - Ogbonna - Cresswell
    Noble - Obiang
    Ayew - Lanzini - Arnautovic
    Chicharito

But playing away at Man Utd with that XI is going to leave us very open at the back, so maybe:

Hart
    Zabaleta - Reid - Ogbonna
    Byram - Noble - Obiang - Cresswell
    Lanzini - Arnautovic
    Chicharito